My Pet Collection
You've collected 0 pets
Log in to track your collection

Foe Reaper from Deadmines, stuck with breed

Share pet collecting news and advice.
User avatar
Peanutty
 
Posts: 1253
Joined: May 3rd, 2011
Pet Score: 5553
Realm: Kil'jaeden-US

Foe Reaper from Deadmines, stuck with breed

Postby Peanutty » June 17th, 2017, 12:44 am

Well this was not well thought out. Foe Reaper 0.9 has 3 possible breeds but not only is it not cageable (which makes sense given the new currency system) but it can't be released either.

I'm now "stuck" with a S/B Foe Reaper that I can't get rid of and my policy is no duplicates, so... now what? :cry:

User avatar
Quintessence
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2299
Joined: June 4th, 2008
Pet Score: 5603
Realm: Proudmoore-US

Re: Foe Reaper from Deadmines, stuck with breed

Postby Quintessence » June 17th, 2017, 12:48 am

Definitely report this as a bug. Doesn't seem like it was intended and the 3 breeds were probably from the time when the pet was a drop and cageable.
Image
Feel free to browse through Perks N Peeves, my vanity pet collecting blog!

User avatar
Vakeetah
Top Rater
 
Posts: 152
Joined: October 11th, 2015
Pet Score: 4549
Realm: Dragonblight-EU

Re: Foe Reaper from Deadmines, stuck with breed

Postby Vakeetah » June 17th, 2017, 1:31 pm

Think this was also initially the case with Bonkers, which was later made removable, and finally, tradeable. Most likely an oversight, in fact, I see no reason for them not to be tradeable so I would expect it to follow the same path eventually.
Image
- Thanks to Paladance for the sig!

User avatar
Gráinne
 
Posts: 614
Joined: July 7th, 2015
Pet Score: 5301
Realm: Magtheridon-EU

Re: Foe Reaper from Deadmines, stuck with breed

Postby Gráinne » June 17th, 2017, 5:09 pm

Thanks, Peanutty!

I didn't even notice that it had three breeds, stoned and levelled mine (P/B) without thinking.

Oh, that's evil. I have to admire the slipperiness of it. :) I doubt that it's a mistake; rather, the devs' way of saying "You think you're done just because you bought all the pets? look again, sucka!". Do you think they sold their souls to a Demon of Randomness? It would explain a lot....

User avatar
Peanutty
 
Posts: 1253
Joined: May 3rd, 2011
Pet Score: 5553
Realm: Kil'jaeden-US

Re: Foe Reaper from Deadmines, stuck with breed

Postby Peanutty » June 17th, 2017, 5:23 pm

I'm really trying to convince myself it doesn't matter (because, really, am I going to need to use this pet in the future, especially with a specific breed?) but I'm not a very convincing liar. :? I did submit a bug report, in case it really is an oversight, but for now, this guy will be last on my list to level.

User avatar
Quintessence
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2299
Joined: June 4th, 2008
Pet Score: 5603
Realm: Proudmoore-US

Re: Foe Reaper from Deadmines, stuck with breed

Postby Quintessence » June 18th, 2017, 3:42 am

As a warning, it appears Tricorne also comes in multiple breeds.

Unsure about Pocket Cannon though. Originally it was the reward from the Deadmines Challenge achievement, and achievement pets usually only come in one breed. It's possible the one breed has stuck even after becoming a vendor pet.
Image
Feel free to browse through Perks N Peeves, my vanity pet collecting blog!

User avatar
Gráinne
 
Posts: 614
Joined: July 7th, 2015
Pet Score: 5301
Realm: Magtheridon-EU

Re: Foe Reaper from Deadmines, stuck with breed

Postby Gráinne » June 18th, 2017, 6:15 pm

I logged a bug report as well, just in case it makes a difference.

We should not be precluded by RNG from ever getting the breed of pet we want.

User avatar
Shashos
 
Posts: 39
Joined: May 28th, 2011
Pet Score: 5477
Realm: Doomhammer-US

Re: Foe Reaper from Deadmines, stuck with breed

Postby Shashos » June 21st, 2017, 11:51 am

Well, heck. I never noticed the different breeds. I suppose that means once I have one of each pet, I'll keep running and buying more to try and get the other breeds.

I'm hoping this is just an oversight though. I really don't want to think the devs are being that devious to keep us running and it would pain me to have to release any duplicates since they can't be caged.
Last edited by Shashos on June 21st, 2017, 11:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Paladance
 
Posts: 978
Joined: July 18th, 2015
Pet Score: 4622
Realm: Burning Legion-EU

Re: Foe Reaper from Deadmines, stuck with breed

Postby Paladance » June 21st, 2017, 11:52 am

Now I wonder whether to wait with buying anything until I get all 6 coins…
Image

User avatar
GrosBonda
 
Posts: 330
Joined: October 1st, 2009
Pet Score: 5578
BattleTag®: Grosbonda#1406
Realm: Arygos-US

Re: Foe Reaper from Deadmines, stuck with breed

Postby GrosBonda » June 21st, 2017, 1:33 pm

Paladance wrote:Now I wonder whether to wait with buying anything until I get all 6 coins…

that's exactly what i will be doing :)
then go on a leveling spree
I love leveling but i have no more pet to level :(

User avatar
Flohsakk
 
Posts: 175
Joined: July 19th, 2012
Pet Score: 5353
Realm: Blackhand-EU

Re: Foe Reaper from Deadmines, stuck with breed

Postby Flohsakk » June 28th, 2017, 5:16 pm

June 28th Image

User avatar
Cardee
Top Rater
 
Posts: 25
Joined: June 22nd, 2015
Pet Score: 5559
Realm: Lightbringer-US

Re: Foe Reaper from Deadmines, stuck with breed

Postby Cardee » June 28th, 2017, 6:27 pm

This is excellent news. I'm glad we're at least able to release Foe Reapers if we have more than one (and I assume the same thing goes for Tricorne?). Thanks so much, Flohsakk.

User avatar
Gráinne
 
Posts: 614
Joined: July 7th, 2015
Pet Score: 5301
Realm: Magtheridon-EU

Re: Foe Reaper from Deadmines, stuck with breed

Postby Gráinne » June 28th, 2017, 8:23 pm

Thank you, Flohsakk. That is reassuring. And commiserations on getting a duplicate S/B.

User avatar
Peanutty
 
Posts: 1253
Joined: May 3rd, 2011
Pet Score: 5553
Realm: Kil'jaeden-US

Re: Foe Reaper from Deadmines, stuck with breed

Postby Peanutty » June 29th, 2017, 12:51 am

Thank you, this is fantastic news for me! I had to use up all my bottle caps but was able to get the Foe Reaper breed I wanted and able to release the rest.

User avatar
Flohsakk
 
Posts: 175
Joined: July 19th, 2012
Pet Score: 5353
Realm: Blackhand-EU

Re: Foe Reaper from Deadmines, stuck with breed

Postby Flohsakk » June 29th, 2017, 12:59 am

On the official forums someone said Pocket cannon can not be released... but I've seen this option. Curious if you really need a duplicate of an old bottle cap pet before you get the option to release one. Didn't think about something like that before buying the 2nd Foe Reaper. Maybe I can tell you more next ID or someone else want to spend his caps on duplicates ;)

User avatar
Flohsakk
 
Posts: 175
Joined: July 19th, 2012
Pet Score: 5353
Realm: Blackhand-EU

Re: Foe Reaper from Deadmines, stuck with breed

Postby Flohsakk » June 29th, 2017, 1:53 am

And if you didn't buy any pets for your collected old bottle caps... put them on one character, do multiple copies to PTR and then go shopping (single pets, test release option... then duplicates and again check release option) please ;)

User avatar
Paladance
 
Posts: 978
Joined: July 18th, 2015
Pet Score: 4622
Realm: Burning Legion-EU

Re: Foe Reaper from Deadmines, stuck with breed

Postby Paladance » June 29th, 2017, 2:01 am

Flohsakk wrote:And if you didn't buy any pets for your collected old bottle caps... put them on one character, do multiple copies to PTR and then go shopping (single pets, test release option... then duplicates and again check release option) please ;)


And check the supply of breeds aswell. :)
Image

User avatar
Peanutty
 
Posts: 1253
Joined: May 3rd, 2011
Pet Score: 5553
Realm: Kil'jaeden-US

Re: Foe Reaper from Deadmines, stuck with breed

Postby Peanutty » June 29th, 2017, 7:49 am

Flohsakk wrote:On the official forums someone said Pocket cannon can not be released... but I've seen this option. Curious if you really need a duplicate of an old bottle cap pet before you get the option to release one. Didn't think about something like that before buying the 2nd Foe Reaper. Maybe I can tell you more next ID or someone else want to spend his caps on duplicates ;)


Hmm I didn't think of testing that, mostly as it seems counterintuitive to release a pet before picking up a replacement. I bought a 2nd Foe Reaper, released the first, then bought a 3rd, released the second.

Currently with just 1 Foe Reaper in my journal, it is NOT allowing me to release it.

User avatar
Flohsakk
 
Posts: 175
Joined: July 19th, 2012
Pet Score: 5353
Realm: Blackhand-EU

Re: Foe Reaper from Deadmines, stuck with breed

Postby Flohsakk » July 5th, 2017, 9:35 am

Did the old bottle cap PTR copy and can confirm:

All three pets can be released if you have at least one duplicate of a pet you want to dump.

P/B was the hardest Foe Reaper 0.9 breed to get.

Haven't seen anything else than the one known breed for Tricorne and Pocket Cannon.

Edit: Okay I only had the wowhead information about one breed for Tricorne and bad luck because I've never seen anything else than the P/S breed they have on their page. Copied more old bottle caps to PTR and had some upgrade stones in my bags so here we go:

Image
Last edited by Flohsakk on July 8th, 2017, 7:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Noel
 
Posts: 105
Joined: February 28th, 2014
Pet Score: 5614
Realm: Kel'Thuzad-US

Re: Foe Reaper from Deadmines, stuck with breed

Postby Noel » July 7th, 2017, 8:07 am

From its entry here the Tricorne has S/S P/S and S/B. I can live with either S/S or P/S. They really should remove all breeds but one if they're going to continue being non-tradeable.


Return to Pet Collecting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron