My Pet Collection
You've collected 0 pets
Log in to track your collection

Pet duplicates not behaving right in conjunction w/ filters

Report bugs and share your ideas to improve WarcraftPets.
User avatar
Amethice
Top Rater
 
Posts: 57
Joined: November 13th, 2012
Pet Score: 2986

Pet duplicates not behaving right in conjunction w/ filters

Postby Amethice » March 21st, 2013, 10:03 pm

I've noticed lately that the way pet duplicates are listed seems to not quite work right, in that it only counts duplicates for the current shown listing, not the collection as a whole.

An example, to clarify what I mean: My collection currently holds three Curious Wolvar Pups (gotten back in the first year since I did that quest on 3+ alts, yet was silly enough not to pick the oracle for any of them. Ah well, just a couple more weeks 'til Children's Week... I digress).
Having found a few humanoid battle stones, I have upgraded one of them to Rare quality. So currently, my Wolvars are Rare 10, Uncommon 1, Uncommon 1.

If I show my collected pets, the two uncommons are appropriately shown with the orange overlay for being duplicates. So far so good.
unfiltered.jpg
All collected pets, screenshot
unfiltered.jpg (211.22 KiB) Viewed 310 times


However, if I filter my list to only show my uncommon pets (because I want to get myself a list of pets I still need to upgrade with battle stones), only one of the two will be listed as a duplicate - the first one will be considered a "primary" in the listing. This is of course a danger since it means that if I don't know this, I'll accidentally flag this pet as needing to be upgraded even though it is in fact a duplicate.
filtered.jpg
Just the uncommon, screenshot. Note that the first uncommon wolvar is no longer marked as a duplicate (nor is the creepy crate, even though I have a rare)
filtered.jpg (184.54 KiB) Viewed 310 times


I suspect this behaviour might also be why excluding duplicates through filters isn't working. If you try, it still shows all the duplcates... at a guess, while the filters are still being applied, the system doesn't know yet what is a duplicate or not (or doesn't check it properly, rather).

EDIT: Added screenshots for clarity. =)

User avatar
Breanni
Site Admin
 
Posts: 368
Joined: December 1st, 2007
Pet Score: 1382

Re: Pet duplicates not behaving right in conjunction w/ filt

Postby Breanni » March 22nd, 2013, 7:20 am

There are some known issues with how duplicate pets are being displayed through the filters. We were hoping to have a fix done with the latest round of updates, but it's taken longer than expected to resolve the issues.

To quote Blizzard, "Soon." :-)
Image

User avatar
Amethice
Top Rater
 
Posts: 57
Joined: November 13th, 2012
Pet Score: 2986

Re: Pet duplicates not behaving right in conjunction w/ filt

Postby Amethice » March 22nd, 2013, 7:25 am

Breanni wrote:There are some known issues with how duplicate pets are being displayed through the filters. We were hoping to have a fix done with the latest round of updates, but it's taken longer than expected to resolve the issues.

To quote Blizzard, "Soon." :-)


Understood. =)

Just wanted to make sure that this aspect of duplicates not working right was also documented. ^_^

Keep up the good work!

User avatar
Breanni
Site Admin
 
Posts: 368
Joined: December 1st, 2007
Pet Score: 1382

Re: Pet duplicates not behaving right in conjunction w/ filt

Postby Breanni » March 26th, 2013, 4:29 pm

Ok, duplicates (and all other filters) should now be working properly. If you get any unexpected results, please let us know. Thanks!
Image

User avatar
Amethice
Top Rater
 
Posts: 57
Joined: November 13th, 2012
Pet Score: 2986

Re: Pet duplicates not behaving right in conjunction w/ filt

Postby Amethice » March 26th, 2013, 9:11 pm

Seems to be working beautifully, makes it a lot easier now to do things like find what pets you need to upgrade. =)


Return to Site Bugs and Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest