Need an Article explaining 'Stones'?

Discuss pet battles, strategy and theorycrafting.
Oldguy
Pet Score:2077
Realm:Malfurion-us
Need an Article explaining 'Stones'?

Post by Oldguy » January 14th, 2013, 10:34 am

Hi. I'm no pro at Pet Battles by any means. Today, after winning a battle, I was given a "Stone" (sorry, but I can't remember its exact name). It said in effect that I can use it to upgrade one of my pets to Rare quality. It was a surprise, since I hadn't done anything out of the ordinary. I've never received one before, so I'm confused.

My questions are how do go about finding more of these various types of stones? Is there an article on this forum that explains such things? (I searched, but the search failed to find anything related). What are the requirements to attain them, and where/how am I supposed to get them?

Rather wordy, but I don't know how else to ask for advice this subject.

Stabya
Pet Score:2086
Realm:Undermine-us

Re: Need an Article explaining 'Stones'?

Post by Stabya » January 14th, 2013, 11:28 am

The stones you can use on any type of pet are rare random drops from battling pets. You got lucky. You can save it or sell it on the AH

You can also get family specific bind on pickup stones from the Dailies that reward sack of pet supplies.

Darkke
Top Rater
Pet Score:7826
Realm:Daggerspine-us

Post by Darkke » January 14th, 2013, 11:47 am

Pet Battle Stones are pretty rare, and there are a few ways you can acquire them.

1. Wild pet battles. The higher the level of the wild pets, the higher the drop chance. The pet that you see, the first pet is the type of stone that might be dropped. So if you battle a level 25 wild Leopard Frog (an aquatic), you have a chance to obtain a [url=http://www.wowhead.com/item=92679]Flawless Aquatic Battle-Stone[/url]

Very rarely, there is a chance that a BOE stone usable on ANY pet may drop: [url=http://www.wowhead.com/item=92741]Flawless Battle-Stone[/url]