My Pet Collection
You've collected 0 pets
Log in to track your collection

PetBattleTeams addon in 6.1

Discuss pet battles, strategy and theorycrafting.
User avatar
Painbow
 
Posts: 50
Joined: February 14th, 2015
Pet Score: 3932
Realm: Mal'Ganis-US

PetBattleTeams addon in 6.1

Postby Painbow » February 24th, 2015, 5:35 pm

Of course it's not working and I'm not sure the author is going to put an update out today. I feel naked without all the pettracker / petjournal and especially PetBattleTeams addons, so how can we get it working again?

From what I vaguely remember, you can just edit the .toc or one of the .lua files and manually adjust the version or something like that, right? My other addons are working fine even if there hasn't been an update such as Altoholic, Bigwigs, and others, but not my pet addons.

User avatar
Kpb321
 
Posts: 938
Joined: April 30th, 2013
Pet Score: 3924
BattleTag®: kpb#1554
Realm: Sisters of Elune-US

Re: PetBattleTeams addon in 6.1

Postby Kpb321 » February 24th, 2015, 6:52 pm

The patch today doesn't have a hard cut off for loading out of date add-on so if you check that and they still aren't working then changing the version in the files isn't going to help. You'd have to wait for the author or someone else to fix them to deal with whatever change blizzard made in 6.1 that broke them. I'm 99.999999% sure that Rematch will work fine today after the patch which is all the more reason to use it over PBT imo. The developer is still actively maintaining it and you don't have to worry about it breaking on some random patch.

User avatar
Peanutty
 
Posts: 1019
Joined: May 3rd, 2011
Pet Score: 4773
BattleTag®: PBCup#1312
Realm: Kil'jaeden-US

Re: PetBattleTeams addon in 6.1

Postby Peanutty » February 25th, 2015, 12:17 am

Updating .toc doesn't work (I did it for all my other addons and they work fine) so you'll have to wait for the author to update it. The addition of the heirloom tab pretty much broke it for now.

User avatar
Jerebear
 
Posts: 999
Joined: September 15th, 2013
Pet Score: 4623
Realm: Llane-US

Re: PetBattleTeams addon in 6.1

Postby Jerebear » February 25th, 2015, 12:25 am

Rematch was working fine for me. It can copy all of your teams from PBT (just make sure PBT is enabled/loaded even though it doesn't work). MIght work as a temporary solution until PBT gets updated?
Carry Pet Experience Reference Guide:
http://www.warcraftpets.com/community/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=8829

User avatar
Painbow
 
Posts: 50
Joined: February 14th, 2015
Pet Score: 3932
Realm: Mal'Ganis-US

Re: PetBattleTeams addon in 6.1

Postby Painbow » February 25th, 2015, 4:02 am

I found out how to fix PetBattleTeams for 6.1:

1. Open Interface\AddOns\PetBattleTeams\modules\GUI\GUI.lua
2. Search and replace (ctrl+f or search/replace with your text editor) every "Blizzard_PetJournal" with "Blizzard_Collections"
There are 5 of them in the file. Make sure "Blizzard_Collections" is capitalized like that and that the _ is an underscore and not a hyphen.

If your teams are still gorked or you see question marks, try hitting Escape ->
Interface -> Addons -> Petbattleteams -> Resonstruct teams

SEEMS to be working all right so far.

User avatar
Peanutty
 
Posts: 1019
Joined: May 3rd, 2011
Pet Score: 4773
BattleTag®: PBCup#1312
Realm: Kil'jaeden-US

Re: PetBattleTeams addon in 6.1

Postby Peanutty » February 25th, 2015, 4:38 am

Painbow wrote:I found out how to fix PetBattleTeams for 6.1:

1. Open Interface\AddOns\PetBattleTeams\modules\GUI\GUI.lua
2. Search and replace (ctrl+f or search/replace with your text editor) every "Blizzard_PetJournal" with "Blizzard_Collections"
There are 5 of them in the file. Make sure "Blizzard_Collections" is capitalized like that and that the _ is an underscore and not a hyphen.

If your teams are still gorked or you see question marks, try hitting Escape ->
Interface -> Addons -> Petbattleteams -> Resonstruct teams

SEEMS to be working all right so far.


Yup that worked for me (I also updated the .toc to 60100). And yes it blanked out my teams but the Reconstruct Teams option put everything back where it belonged. Thanks for posting this workaround!

User avatar
Presto
Top Rater
 
Posts: 252
Joined: February 18th, 2014
Pet Score: 4076
BattleTag®: Presto#1944
Realm: Elune-US

Re: PetBattleTeams addon in 6.1

Postby Presto » February 25th, 2015, 5:02 am

AFAIK, the above workaround was originally posted on the PBT Curse page by "Gello". If you use Curse, drop him some kudos there, too. Great fix.
Presto says, "Let's trade!!" :P (btag: Presto#1944)

User avatar
Drudatz
Top Rater
 
Posts: 245
Joined: June 13th, 2011
Pet Score: 4581
Realm: Kul Tiras-EU

Re: PetBattleTeams addon in 6.1

Postby Drudatz » February 25th, 2015, 7:17 am

Painbow wrote:I found out how to fix PetBattleTeams for 6.1:
Thanks for that.

User avatar
Blixtiya
 
Posts: 52
Joined: January 25th, 2014
Pet Score: 4376
Realm: Madoran-US

Re: PetBattleTeams addon in 6.1

Postby Blixtiya » February 25th, 2015, 9:50 am

did the same thing, it worked like a charm.

User avatar
Kpb321
 
Posts: 938
Joined: April 30th, 2013
Pet Score: 3924
BattleTag®: kpb#1554
Realm: Sisters of Elune-US

Re: PetBattleTeams addon in 6.1

Postby Kpb321 » February 25th, 2015, 11:17 am

Presto wrote:AFAIK, the above workaround was originally posted on the PBT Curse page by "Gello". If you use Curse, drop him some kudos there, too. Great fix.


BTW he's the author of rematch :o

User avatar
Utharkruna
Top Rater
 
Posts: 8
Joined: August 22nd, 2013
Pet Score: 4340
BattleTag®: Veilingmeat#2383
Realm: Twilight's Hammer-EU

Re: PetBattleTeams addon in 6.1

Postby Utharkruna » February 25th, 2015, 3:09 pm

Painbow wrote:I found out how to fix PetBattleTeams for 6.1:

1. Open Interface\AddOns\PetBattleTeams\modules\GUI\GUI.lua
2. Search and replace (ctrl+f or search/replace with your text editor) every "Blizzard_PetJournal" with "Blizzard_Collections"
There are 5 of them in the file. Make sure "Blizzard_Collections" is capitalized like that and that the _ is an underscore and not a hyphen.

If your teams are still gorked or you see question marks, try hitting Escape ->
Interface -> Addons -> Petbattleteams -> Resonstruct teams

SEEMS to be working all right so far.


====================================================================================================

Excellent! Nice Catch dude ...thanks muchly! =)

Incidentally has anyone noticed the a new problem with displaying the team name?

So for example - I name all my teams after what they are used for.
So they might be named for the Celestial Tournament ('CT:'), Beasts of Fable ('BOF:') whatever...

Example 1) 'Garrison: Fire and Ice'
or
Example 2) 'WOD: Cymre Brightblade'

Now the display name of the team says

1) Ice
2) Brightblade

Pretty much all my teams names are displaying incorrectly even with the correct pets in the teams.
Interestingly if I mouse over the team it'll say something like "W_OD:_Cymre Brightblade"

I went in to the addon's options and clicked 'Reconstruct Team's didn't make a difference.


Another thing I noticed is that when you switch between teams that action is on the Global Cool Down now, which seems to be an odd change to make.

User avatar
Desi
 
Posts: 131
Joined: August 20th, 2014
Pet Score: 4857
Realm: Dragonblight-US

Re: PetBattleTeams addon in 6.1

Postby Desi » February 25th, 2015, 3:36 pm

BattlePetBreedID has been updated :)

User avatar
Ril
Top Rater
 
Posts: 196
Joined: January 13th, 2009
Pet Score: 4252
Realm: Frostmane-EU

Re: PetBattleTeams addon in 6.1

Postby Ril » February 25th, 2015, 8:41 pm

maybe a silly question... but what purpose does PBT fulfil now that we've got rematch? note that i've waited a very long time before switching to rematch myself, but PBT is now completely obsolete for me.

User avatar
Jerebear
 
Posts: 999
Joined: September 15th, 2013
Pet Score: 4623
Realm: Llane-US

Re: PetBattleTeams addon in 6.1

Postby Jerebear » February 25th, 2015, 11:40 pm

There is a simplicity to PBT that some really like. I personally prefer Rematch, but PBT offers a different layout which some like better.

That said you can run both. If I were a PBT person, I would do that just for the search options in Rematch.
Carry Pet Experience Reference Guide:
http://www.warcraftpets.com/community/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=8829

User avatar
Melfice
Top Rater
 
Posts: 77
Joined: August 11th, 2013
Pet Score: 3357
Realm: Stormrage-US

Re: PetBattleTeams addon in 6.1

Postby Melfice » February 26th, 2015, 1:46 pm

Jerebear wrote:There is a simplicity to PBT that some really like. I personally prefer Rematch, but PBT offers a different layout which some like better.

That said you can run both. If I were a PBT person, I would do that just for the search options in Rematch.


What you said. I like the "natural" look and feel of PBT. I did try Rematch after PBT was broken on Tuesday for the first time. i did not really care for the UI myself. Maybe because I'm not used to it, but this weekend I might mess around with Rematch, to see if I like it better

User avatar
Kpb321
 
Posts: 938
Joined: April 30th, 2013
Pet Score: 3924
BattleTag®: kpb#1554
Realm: Sisters of Elune-US

Re: PetBattleTeams addon in 6.1

Postby Kpb321 » February 26th, 2015, 3:02 pm

I think it depends on what you are doing. For PvE teams rematch is just so much better. The auto-loading of teams is just so nice. You don't have to care about the managing the teams at all. Yeah Auto-safari hat can do that for you with PBT but you have to carefully name your team for it to work.

For PVP or if you actually want to manage the teams then I think PBT is nicer. It kinda just fits with the standard pet journal. It's also a bit larger and easier to see things.

One warning i will add is you want to make sure you lock your PBT teams otherwise you'll end up with your teams getting changed. Any time anything, including any other add-in, changes your currently loaded teams it will change your selected PBT unless it's locked. Not a bug or rematch issue. It's just part of the way PBT works.

User avatar
Laeleiweyn
 
Posts: 1
Joined: June 7th, 2011
Pet Score: 4151
Realm: Aerie Peak-EU

Re: PetBattleTeams addon in 6.1

Postby Laeleiweyn » February 27th, 2015, 4:01 am

Thanks a lot Painbow!!! :D

User avatar
Ligament
 
Posts: 39
Joined: November 24th, 2010
Pet Score: 4664
BattleTag®: ligament#1221
Realm: Turalyon-US

Re: PetBattleTeams addon in 6.1

Postby Ligament » March 1st, 2015, 10:46 pm

Thank you so much for the fix!

User avatar
Nuriana
Top Rater
 
Posts: 8
Joined: September 26th, 2008
Pet Score: 4878
Realm: Zirkel des Cenarius-EU

Re: PetBattleTeams addon in 6.1

Postby Nuriana » March 2nd, 2015, 6:28 am

Thank you so much, Painbow, for the fix!
I felt kind of helpless without my teams ;)

User avatar
Dirkie
 
Posts: 92
Joined: December 21st, 2012
Pet Score: 4016
BattleTag®: dirk#1435
Realm: Frostwolf-US

Re: PetBattleTeams addon in 6.1

Postby Dirkie » March 3rd, 2015, 11:32 am

So what am I missing? I tried the copy/paste fix but when I log in I have no side tab on my pet window with all my usual teams? I try the reconstruct teams and nothing happens. I have the addon loaded and check marked too but no side tab. I did load rematch and have started using it but to rebuild all those teams... oh the pain!

Next

Return to Pet Battles

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests