question about purchased pet rarities

Share pet collecting news and advice.
Shimtalia
Top Rater
Pet Score:4667
Realm:Madoran-us
question about purchased pet rarities

Post by Shimtalia » December 15th, 2012, 7:00 pm

Hi everyone, as you can guess from looking at my info, I am fairly new to the collecting game.

The question I have is about the pets that you can purchase from vendors. Do they actually come in both rare and uncommon versions? I ask because according to this site, some do and some only come in uncommon. For instance, 4 of the pets I've collected are listed as uncommon only (Blue Moth, Brown Snake, Crimson Snake, and Senegal), yet many others that have been purchased in the same way are listed as both uncommon or rare varieties existing, while still others are listed as rare versions only. Buying stones for all of those pets to upgrade them to rare is really expensive for a newer player, yet so is buying 100 versions of Bombay Cat (for instance) hoping to find a rare one in the mix.

Are there rare versions of all the purchased ones available, or are stones the only way to get some to rare?
Are the drop-down menus accurate as to which can be found at which rarity?
What else am I misunderstanding about this topic that you can help me understand?

Tadedra
Pet Score:7267
Realm:Kul Tiras-us

Re: question about purchased pet rarities

Post by Tadedra » December 15th, 2012, 7:13 pm

Think of it like armor. When you purchase it from a vendor it's common, when it's created by a profession it's uncommon. Some earned via questing and quest rewards and reputation (vendor) very between Uncommon and Rare. As of right now, I think they there isn't any intention of making profession pets proc a rare.