Question regarding trades involving BNet balance/ store item

Arrange pet trades on US and Oceanic servers.
Dicrostonyx
Pet Score:7904
Realm:Cenarion Circle-us
Question regarding trades involving BNet balance/ store item

Post by Dicrostonyx » May 23rd, 2015, 9:35 pm

I'm not an expert, but WoW's EULA and ToS seem to state that it is a violation to sell any in-game item in exchange for any item of real-world value, or vice versa. You can only trade items within their own realm, so to speak.

So, for example, a TCG card with a code for a pet or mount can be sold on eBay for money, the code can be used in game to receive the game item, then that game item can be sold for gold, but you cannot (officially) sell the TCG code for gold or the in-game pet for money.

Recently I have seen a few posts on these boards with trade lists which include BattleNet Balance Cards, store bought pets and mounts, Recruit-a-Friend rewards, and a variety of rare items.

So my question is: are these sorts of trades allowed on these boards?

Please note that I don't have anything against these sorts of trades, in fact I might still have some old codes kicking around from some gifts that I bought years ago, but I do have a problem with inconsistency. Are these trades/ posts actively being allowed or have they simply persisted because no one has complained?

Sibi
Top Rater
Pet Score:10062
BattleTag®:sibylline#1481
Realm:Emerald Dream-us

Re: Question regarding trades involving BNet balance/ store

Post by Sibi » May 23rd, 2015, 10:33 pm

There are a couple threads addressing this question.
The short answer is, the Mods have carefully reviewed and heavily considered these transactions and currently allow them to continue. Odds are good Blizzard knows what we do here and if they had a big problem with it they would contact the board Mods and tell them to make us stop. One of the stickies on the pet trading forum addresses this, I believe.

Wowkemon
Top Rater
Pet Score:13514